My Year in Books: 2017

My Year in Books

I love that Goodreads puts together these stats for you at the end of the year (if you’ve done the reading challenging). I love looking back at them year over year. Here’re my stats for 2017.

My Year in Books 2017

When I looked back at 2015-2017, I saw some interesting things:

  • The number of books I’ve read has gone up over the years, well mostly. (2014: 97 books, 2015: 120 books, 2016: 163 books, 2017: 154 books)
  • But the length of the books I’m reading is going down. (2014: 333 pages, 2015: 319 pages, 2016: 314 pages, 2017: 298 pages)
  • Perhaps it’s because I keep setting my Goodreads goal higher? Because of this possibility, I only set my goal for 2018 at 120 books.
  • I am very consistent in my book ratings. My average rating has held steady for the last 4 years. (2014: 3.5 stars, 2015: 3.5 stars, 2016: 3.6 stars, 2017: 3.5 stars)

That’s it!

Did you do the Goodreads Challenge? What did your year in books look like?

 

Feature image from Pexels

 

You may also like

12 Comments

    1. Haha. Yes, I do. 🙂 It’s the best way to help me recharge – just being in my head for a little bit. Yeah, I think the more I read, the harder it is to find books I love. 🙁

  1. I went with 120 this year too, after reading 150 this year. I like the idea of reading a few longer books without feeling pressure to finish more. I have sooo much happening between May and October next year too that I don’t want to make reading stress me out.

  2. My average rating is a 4 – I guess I’m more lenient lol. Even 120 books feels like an impossible number to me – I read about 30 a year and find that a challenge. I need to learn to read even when people are breathing near me – lol.

    1. Yes, to read as many as I do, you have to read wherever, whenever. I read a lot on my phone even when it’s only 5 minutes at a time. It’s kind of a learned skill to be able to take books in that way. And of course I do audio too – driving, cooking, folding laundry. And I definitely read when Christopher is very close by – even when he’s watching TV. I’ve gotten very good at tuning things out, which maybe isn’t the best thing. Haha.

  3. 154 books is impressive! Is that all print, or do you do audiobooks, too? I hit 156 this year (the highest ever for me!), but that’s because I have more audiobooks and graphic novels in the mix that I have in previous years. I love looking at Goodreads’ end-of-the-year stats, too. They’re very satisfying!

    1. Print, audiobooks, whatever. Some of the books were middle grade or graphic novels, but most of them were YA or adult. I am going to try to read more adult books in 2018, so I set my goal lower. We’ll see how it goes.

  4. You don’t have to do the reading challenge to get it! I have never done the reading challenge but get my “year in books” graphic every year. I love it! 🙂

    1. Really?! That’s awesome. Maybe I’ll pass on the reading challenge in 2019. We’ll see how this year goes. I don’t pay too much attention to it throughout the year, although I have noticed some issues with the “read” list in Goodreads, so I use the challenge to see the books I’m reading in chronological order, so I don’t miss anything for blogging.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge