Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Leah Konen

Underneath a unique writing style, The Romantics is really just a fairly predictable slow-burn contemporary romance. The story is┬ánarrated by Love, in rather the same way that The Book Thief is narrated by Death. The main character is Gael who’s been rather unlucky in love.┬áIn the opening scene he catches his girlfriend cheating on him with his best friend. From there Love discusses his mistakes, ranging from Gael’s parents’ divorce to an accidental rebound girl for Gael, and his plan to unite Gael with his true love.

I enjoyed the definitions of the different types of people: romantics, serial monogamist, etc. and the relationship advice scattered throughout Love’s tale. The characters in this story were all fine, and the plot was cute. It just wasn’t anything spectacular.

Rating: 3 Stars

Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This fact does not in any way impact my thoughts/feelings about the book.

The Romantics
Leah Konen
Young Adult Fiction
Amulet Books
November 1, 2016
eARC
336

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right but she doesn't anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love's plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael s hot-sauce-wielding dream girl. The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules and in order to set Gael s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge