Review: The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman

The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman

I just wanted to be reading this book all the time. Luckily I read the Kindle version, so I had it on my phone, and I could sneak in a few pages here and there no matter where I was. It was just so fun!

As I mentioned yesterday, I often pick books off my Goodreads “to read” list when I need a new book. I saw this book on Modern Mrs. Darcy‘s Kindle deal page, and I knew it was on my list, so I didn’t re-read the description before reading it. I didn’t realize that Brett’s mother willed her do the list. That made it even more interesting. I loved the notes she got from her mom after completing a goal. Her mother knew her so well. It was such a wonderful testament to a mother’s love for her daughter. I told my mom she has to read this book.

Brett was not a lovable character at the beginning of the book, but this is her redemption story. She resists her mother’s wishes at first, but once she embraces the list, her life starts to turn around. It’s a story about rediscovering the things she loves. It made me smile just to read about her success

This book was another great summer read, and I will definitely be checking out Spielman’s new book, Sweet Forgiveness.

Rating: 5 Stars

This review was originally published on Mom’s Radius.

The Life List
Lori Nelson Spielman
Fiction
Bantam
July 2, 2013
Kindle
370

In this utterly charming debut—perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S., I Love You and Allison Winn Scotch’s Time of My Life—one woman sets out to complete her old list of childhood goals, and finds that her lifelong dreams lead her down a path she never expects.

1. Go to Paris
2. Have a baby, maybe two
3. Fall in love

Brett Bohlinger seems to have it all: a plum job, a spacious loft, an irresistibly handsome boyfriend. All in all, a charmed life. That is, until her beloved mother passes away, leaving behind a will with one big stipulation: In order to receive her inheritance, Brett must first complete the life list of goals she’d written when she was a naïve girl of fourteen. Grief-stricken, Brett can barely make sense of her mother’s decision—her childhood dreams don’t resemble her ambitions at age thirty-four in the slightest. Some seem impossible. How can she possibly have a relationship with a father who died seven years ago? Other goals (Be an awesome teacher!) would require her to reinvent her entire future. As Brett reluctantly embarks on a perplexing journey in search of her adolescent dreams, one thing becomes clear. Sometimes life’s sweetest gifts can be found in the most unexpected places.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge