Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter is hugely popular right now for good reason. It’s technically science fiction because it deals with the multiverse and parallel dimensions, but it’s really more a suspense novel. Jason Dessen gave up a career in physics to become a husband, father, and college professor. He could have been one of the great minds of his time, but instead he is loving his average life almost 100% of the time. One night while coming home from a celebration for a former colleague who’s won a prestigious award, he his kidnapped and sent to a different world where everyone thinks he has invented “the box” – a devise that allows travel between dimensions in the multiverse. Jason just wants to get back to his life, but he’ll have to fight for his life to get there.

This book is perfect for fans of The Martian. It’s interesting, but not too heavy on the science. It makes you think, but it mostly just has you on the edge of your seat the whole time wondering who’s taken Jason, where he is exactly, and how he is going to make it back to his wife, Daniella, and his son, Charlie. I love parallel dimension stories, and this book was no different.

It’s written in first person, but every once in a while there is a glimpse into the world Jason has left behind. We get to see how Daniella and Charlie are getting on without him. The audio was very well done. I purchased this book on Audible, so my husband and I could both listen. We both thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rating: 4 Stars

Dark Matter
Blake Crouch
Fiction
Random House Audio
July 26, 2016
Audible Audio
352

“Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable--something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

You may also like

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge