Blog Tour | Review: Boy, 9, Missing by Nic Joseph

Boy, 9, Missing Blog Tour: Matthew Farr Search & Research Team

Boy, 9, Missing is a great suspense novel. Francis’ younger brother Lucas drowned in their bathtub when he was 9 years old. The only person who saw it happen, Lucas’ 10-year old friend, Sam, hasn’t ever spoken of the incident. Now 23 years later, Sam’s 9-year old son, Matthew, is missing.

The present day story is told from Francis’ point of view. He is now a newspaper writer in the town where he grew up. When Sam’s son goes missing, Francis’ father, Alex, is the main suspect. Determined the find his father and Matthew, Francis begins a covert investigation. I had to suspend my disbelief a lot over this point, but I decided to just go with it, and I’m very glad I did.

The suspense in this book was wonderful. I was determined to figure out what had happened to Lucas and where Matthew was. The ending blew me away without any sort of gimmicky twist that’s so popular in suspense novels these days. It was believable yet unpredictable.

Interwoven throughout the book are Francis’ memories of the night Lucas died as well as a memoir Sam is having ghost written. I really enjoyed reading these parts as well. In addition, there is a lot of psychology included that made it even more interesting.

There are a handful of minor characters, but the focus of the story is on Francis, Sam, and Matthew. There is one character that felt unnecessary, and there is a touch of romance.

Overall, I was sucked right in to this book and am so glad I read it.

Rating: 4 stars

Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This fact does not in any way impact my thoughts/feelings about the book.

 

Enter to win an autographed copy of Boy, 9, Missing from Sourcebooks Landmark.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Boy, 9, Missing Book Cover Boy, 9, Missing
Nic Joseph
Fiction
Sourcebooks Landmark
September 20, 2016
eARC
336

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He's tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn't. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.

And now, twenty-three years later, Sam's own nine-year-old son has disappeared.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge