Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte is the first in the Charlotte Holmes series. Brittany Cavallaro puts an interesting twist on the Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson characters by imagining what their descendants would be like. Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson meet at boarding school in Connecticut. Holmes has been solving crimes since she was a young child, and Watson is a typical teenage boy. When a fellow student turns up dead, the pair strike up a fated friendship and set to solving the case.

I’ve never read Sherlock Holmes, but I have watched the BBC show Sherlock and the Robert Downey Jr. movies, so I am familiar with the characters. I really enjoyed this reimagining of the classic characters. The murders in this book seem to be copycats of the murders in the Sherlock Holmes books, so that added an extra element to the plot.

The gender swap was fun. Charlotte is as aloof and unemotional as her great-great-great grandfather and Watson is devoted to her, just as he ancestor was to Sherlock. The book is written from Jamie’s point of view. I don’t read many books narrated by male characters, so that was interesting. His narration includes a lot of emotional turmoil, sarcasm, and other humor. The audio book was very well done.

I was very excited that the second book was already out when I read this one, so I could immediately get more of these characters.

Rating: 4 Stars

A Study in Charlotte
Charlotte Holmes #1
Brittany Cavallaro
Young Adult Fiction
Katherine Tegen Books
March 1, 2016
Audio
336

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge